Physics Research
Help for your research paper
Biome
Books
Search For Books
Browse the Collection
[ Dewey 500's, 700's ]
We have these books & more in our library
Art and Physics by
Art interprets the visible world. Physics charts its unseen workings. The two realms seem completely opposed. But consider that both strive to reveal truths for which there are no words--with physicists using the language of mathematics and artists using visual images. In Art & Physics, Leonard Shlain tracks their breakthroughs side by side throughout history to reveal an astonishing correlation of visions. From the classical Greek sculptors to Andy Warhol and Jasper Johns, and from Aristotle to Einstein, artists have foreshadowed the discoveries of scientists, such as when Monet and Cezanne intuited the coming upheaval in physics that Einstein would initiate. In this lively and colorful narrative, Leonard Shlain explores how artistic breakthroughs could have prefigured the visionary insights of physicists on so many occasions throughout history. Provicative and original, Art & Physics is a seamless integration of the romance of art and the drama of science--and an exhilarating history of ideas.
Call Number: 701 Sh338aISBN: 0061227978Publication Date: 2007-02-27
The Physics of Star Trek by
What exactly warps when you travel at warp speed? What is the difference between the holodeck and a hologram? What happens when you beam up? In this accessible introduction to physics, the author of Fear of Physics boldly goes where Star Trek has gone before--and beyond--taking readers on a voyage to the world of physics as we now know it--and as it might be one day. Photos.
Call Number: 791.45 K91pISBN: 0465005594Publication Date: 1995-09-01
The Isaac Newton School of Driving by
For some people, driving is an art; for others, it's a science. At the Isaac Newton School of Driving, though, every car is a laboratory on wheels and every drive an exciting journey into the world of physics. As explained by renowned science writer and physics professor Barry Parker-whose father was a car mechanic and garage owner-almost every aspect of driving involves physics. A car's performance and handling relies on fundamental concepts such as force, momentum, and energy. Its ignition system depends on the principles of electricity and magnetism. Braking relies on friction-yet another basic scientific concept-and if the brakes fail, the resulting damage, too, can be predicted using physics. Parker's first lesson describes the basic physics of driving: speed and acceleration; why you get thrown forward while braking or outward while turning; and why car advertisements boast about horsepower and torque. He goes on to discuss the thermodynamics of engines, and how they can be more fuel efficient; and what friction and traction are and how they keep a car's tires on the road, whether it's dry, wet, or icy. He also describes how simple laws of physics enable scientists to design aerodynamic cars and high-tech steering systems. Parker then explores the high-performance physics of auto racing, outlines how traffic accidents are reconstructed by police, uses chaos theory to explain why traffic jams happen, and describes what cars of the future might look like. Whether you drive a Pacer or a Porsche, The Isaac Newton School of Driving offers better-and better-informed-driving through physics.
Call Number: 531 P238isISBN: 0801874173Publication Date: 2003-08-12
Football Physics by
You'll never view a football game in quite the same way again--the ultimate guide for the millions of impassioned fans who have turned football into America's most watched sport What effect does altitude have on the flight of a kicked ball? How do Newton's laws of motion apply to blocking and tackling? What does the science of physics reveal to us about the optimal chase strategies for defensive backs? In this illuminating , enormously entertaining book, a physics professor with a rare gift for making science easy to understand-and fun-for the lay reader reveals the unseen natural laws that govern football. And in so doing, Dr. Timothy Gay broadens and deepens our appreciation for the strategic nuances of this deceptively simple game. The success of such well received titles as The Physics of Baseball and The Physics of Golf has already demonstrated fans' fascination with the science underlying their favorite sport. But never before have basic physical principles been explained so clearly for sports fans with no scientific background. Readers will relive the game's enthralling moments and legendary feats-Franco Harris's Immaculate Reception, Joe Montana's scrambling pass for The Catch, Dick Butkus's bone-crunching, game-saving tackles, and many more-as they gain new insight into the dynamics of blocking and tackling, open field running, kicking, passing, the line of scrimmage, and the role played by equipment, turf, and the decibels of sound in stadiums. Illustrated with classic black-and-white NFL action photos along with engaging popular-science diagrams, the book is an outgrowth of Dr. Gay's playful, brilliant lectures on the physics of football that have been adapted by the NFL for videos shown on the TV show Blast! which airs in 190 foreign countries.
Call Number: 796.332 G285fISBN: 157954911XPublication Date: 2004-10-01
The Physics and Technology of Tennis by
Helping coaches and players streamline their learning systems, improve their performance, and further their understanding and enjoyment of the game, this book provides an entertaining and enlightening look at the physics behind how to use a racquet to change the speed and direction of a tennis ball. Distinguishing the science from the folklore and myth, it makes the physics of tennis understandable to players of all skill levels. Important issues such as the role of string tension, the meaning of power, the importance of swing weight, and the relevance of the various sweet spots are addressed. Athletes are shown how to play better tennis by obeying the laws of the universe, optimizing equipment for ultimate performance, and understanding the dynamics of tennis events. From speed-to-spin ratios and shock vibration scales to choosing string on a moist day, this guide covers it all.
Call Number: 796.342 B864pISBN: 0972275908Publication Date: 2004-04-01
Search the Internet
Search the Internet
- Science360 NetworkPhysics. (n.d.). Retrieved November 16, 2016, from https://science360.gov/topic/Physics/
- Potential Physics Research PapersResearch School of Physics & Engineering. (2016). Retrieved November 16, 2016, from https://physics.anu.edu.au/projects/
- AP Physics topics - Andersen videosAndersen, P. (n.d.). AP Physics. Retrieved November 16, 2016, from http://www.bozemanscience.com/ap-physics
Search For eBooks
TOPIC OVERVIEW
Sailing Physics, page(s): 605-606. word count: 851.
World of Sports ScienceEd. K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner . Vol. 2. Detroit: Gale, 2007.
TOPIC OVERVIEW
Figure Skating Dynamics of Leaps and Throws, page(s): 266-267. word count: 888.
World of Sports ScienceEd. K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner . Vol. 1. Detroit: Gale, 2007.
TOPIC OVERVIEW
Robotics, page(s): 212-217. word count: 2274.
Computer SciencesEd. K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner . Vol. 1: Foundations: Ideas and People. 2nd ed. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2013.
TOPIC OVERVIEW
Virtual Reality, page(s): 272-275. word count: 1541.
Computer SciencesEd. K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner . Vol. 2: Software and Hardware. 2nd ed. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2013.
Databases
Search Databases
- General Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
General Science Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
Citing Sources
- Citation MachineServing High School, College, and University students, their teachers, and independent researchers since 2000.
Copyright © 2000 - 2016 by Citation Machine™, a Chegg Service.