Genetic Disorders
Research Project
Genetic Disorders
Books
Search For Books
- GVRL This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library has scanned copies of print resources like encyclopedias and other reference books
Search E-books
The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders, edited by Tracie Moy and Laura Avery, 4th ed., vol. 2, Gale, 2016
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, edited by Jacqueline L. Longe, 5th ed., vol. 4, Gale, 2015, pp. 2154-2161.
Browse the Collection
[ Dewey 616 ]
The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders by Call Number: R 616.042 G151AvISBN: 1410332810Publication Date: 2016-04-29A revision of the 2010 edition, this three-volume set is a unique source for information on diseases and conditions of genetic origin. The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders serves as an informative, accessible source of information on genetic disorders and common genetic concepts and practices. It avoids medical jargon, using language laypersons can understand while still providing thorough coverage of each disorder and concept.
Search the Internet
Search the Internet
- National Institutes of HealthSpecific Genetic Disorders
- GARD Genetic and Rare DiseasesGARD maintains a list of rare diseases and related terms to help people find reliable information.
The Project
- Genetics Disorder Research ProjectSome diseases/disorders come from the environment. For example, diseases like the flu or HIV are caused by viruses that cause infection within a person. Other disorders are due to mistakes in genes. A person can be born with such disorders. This unit project focuses on how genetics affects humans directly to cause these diseases. Many people are affected by genetic disorders; you may even have some family members or friends with some of these diseases. Choose a disorder that affects someone you know or that intrigues you because it is strange or interesting. The goal is to research the disorder and orally present information plus recent research using a PowerPoint slide presentation
Genetic Disorders [ from National Institutes of Health ]
- Achondroplasia
- Alpha-1 Antitrypsin Deficiency
- Antiphospholipid Syndrome
- Autism
- Autosomal Dominant Polycystic Kidney Disease
- Breast cancer
- Charcot-Marie-Tooth
- Colon cancer
- Cri du chat
- Crohn's Disease
- Cystic fibrosis
- Dercum Disease
- Down Syndrome
- Duane Syndrome
- Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy
- Factor V Leiden Thrombophilia
- Familial Hypercholesterolemia
- Familial Mediterranean Fever
- Fragile X Syndrome
- Gaucher Disease
- Hemochromatosis
- Hemophilia
- Holoprosencephaly
- Huntington's disease
- Klinefelter syndrome
- Marfan syndrome
- Myotonic Dystrophy
- Neurofibromatosis
- Noonan Syndrome
- Osteogenesis Imperfecta
- Parkinson's disease
- Phenylketonuria
- Poland Anomaly
- Porphyria
- Progeria
- Prostate Cancer
- Retinitis Pigmentosa
- Severe Combined Immunodeficiency (SCID)
- Sickle cell disease
- Skin Cancer
- Spinal Muscular Atrophy
- Tay-Sachs
- Thalassemia
- Trimethylaminuria
- Turner Syndrome
- Velocardiofacial Syndrome
- WAGR Syndrome
- Wilson Disease
If a condition is not listed above, other resources of information can be found at: Online Health Resources.
Last Reviewed: May 18, 2018
Databases
Search Databases
- General Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
General Science Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
- Health Reference Center AcademicHealth Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Citing Sources
- EasyBibWe cite according to the 8th edition of MLA, 6th edition of APA, and 16th edition of Chicago (8th edition Turabian).
© 2001-2016 EasyBib, a Chegg service - Citation MachineServing High School, College, and University students, their teachers, and independent researchers since 2000.
Copyright © 2000 - 2016 by Citation Machine™, a Chegg Service.