Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Webb School Library and Archives Phone: 931-389-5758
GVRL Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution by
Call Number: eBook
Levy, Leonard W., and Kenneth L. Karst, eds. Encyclopedia of the American Constitution, 2nd ed. Vol. 3. 6 vols. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2000. Gale Virtual Reference Library (accessed September 6, 2018).
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
Publication Date: 2006-08-25
Benjamin, Thomas, ed. Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450. Vol. 2. 3 vols. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2007. Gale Virtual Reference Library (accessed September 6, 2018).
The overseas empires of Western Europe, including the US first as colony then as colonizer, is deemed here to have ended in the middle to late 20th century. Over 400 articles provide information about such aspects as economic concepts and ideas, explorations and migrations, industries, organizations and institutions, people and peoples, religions,