Skip to Main Content

Articles

Start your search for articles in a multidisciplinary database.

GALE OneFile Database
A great starting point for most subjects

All of JSTOR 
Articles, plus theses, reports, and more [obtain the password from librarian ]

All GALE databases
Browse all Gale research databases available from your library.

Opposing Viewpoints
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.

GALE News

Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.

The Tennessean

Full-text articles from The Tennessean newspaper. Provides Nashville and Middle Tennessee regional coverage.

GALE Teachers

Statistics

Humanities

JURN finds arts and humanities journals, book chapters, and theses.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) searches more than 7,000 open-access journals, which are searchable at the article level.

STEM

High Wire Press boasts that it provides “the largest archive of free full-text science on Earth!” Look for journals marked “free site.”

Science Direct site has 250,000 open-access articles.

Wiley free and open-access journals.

Task Definition  / Topic Selection

GALE Topic Finder 

JSTOR Text Analyzer 

Information Seeking Strategies

Brainstorm - notetaking with GIST sheet 

Pre-search - make a list of 5-10 keywords for a basic Internet search 

Locate and Access

Peer-Reviewed Articles - see recommended article databases 

Other Online Sources  - see recommended online research websites

Books and EBooks - see the librarian for searching the catalog

Other Libraries

Synthesize / Evaluate / Share 

Organize

Construct new concepts

Present the Information

The Webb School Library and Archives Phone: 931-389-5758