History of the Atom Project
© 2015 Cengage Learning. This image may be used for personal, non-commercial purposes only.
|
The atomic theory of matter is an excellent illustration of the process of science. Our understanding of the world around us is reshaped and refined with each scientific experiment. The first recorded idea of the atom comes from the ancient Greeks in the 400’s B.C. Over the millennia, scientific experimentation has added to our knowledge of the atom, redefining what it is and what its structure is like. In this project, your goal will be to learn about some of the highlights in the history of atomic theory to gain an appreciation of how we know what we know about atoms.
|
Questions to answer in your research:
- History of Atom Project The atomic theory of matter is an excellent illustration of the process of science. Our understanding of the world around us is reshaped and refined with each scientific experiment. The first recorded idea of the atom comes from the ancient Greeks in the 400’s B.C. Over the millennia, scientific experimentation has added to our knowledge of the atom, redefining what it is and what its structure is like. In this project, your goal will be to learn about some of the highlights in the history of atomic theory to gain an appreciation of how we know what we know about atoms.
Topic Links
- Atomic Theory."Atomic Theory." World of Earth Science, edited by K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, vol. 1, Gale, 2003, pp. 45-46.
- Development of the atomic modelWired. “The Development of the Atomic Model.” https://www.wired.com/2009/09/the-development-of-the-atomic-model/ (accessed April 3, 2019).
Websites
| Some of these scientists did experiments not related to atomic theory as well. If you search on the web for information, you might include searches about the history of atomic theory, or “Niels Bohr atomic theory” to help get more relevant results. You can, of course, get useful information by searching each name as well, but don’t forget to find out about contributions to atomic theory. Your textbook also has valuable information about some of these scientists. Here are a few helpful websites to get things going. |
- PBS atomscroll down to the bottom for links to scientists
RAFT chart
Step 2 (Due 9/17) of this project is turning your research into an interesting and informative project. This is the part where you use the information, making sure to avoid plagiarism by putting things into your own words. The type of project you will complete is called a RAFT (R = role, A = audience, F = Format, T = Topic). You choose one horizontal row from the choices below to complete. If you do not see any options that appeal to you, talk to me about designing your own. (A self-designed option must be pre-approved.)
|
Role |
Audience |
Format |
Topic |
|
Science Writer at the New York Times |
Reader of the New York Times Science Section |
Newspaper Article of major scientific breakthrough – or retrospective report |
The day’s headliner science discovery or The Ongoing discovery of the atom |
|
Science Historian |
Students studying atomic history |
Detailed Timeline |
Important Figures and Events in the History of Atomic Structure |
|
Author |
Students in your high school chemistry class |
Graphic Novel |
Adventures of a Scientist listed above that includes their contribution to atomic development |
|
Actors putting on a performance for the scientists at Fermilab |
Scientists in the research community who are currently doing research on subatomic particles |
Role-Playing |
You will take on the persona of a scientist who contributed to the development of the atom |
Scientists in GALE databases
- Bohr, Niels (1885–1962) Tanona, Scott. "Bohr, Niels (1885–1962)." Encyclopedia of Philosophy, edited by Donald M. Borchert, 2nd ed., vol. 1, Macmillan Reference USA, 2006, pp. 636-639.
- Chadwick, Sir James (1891-1974) "Chadwick, Sir James (1891-1974)." Encyclopedia of World Biography, Gale, 1998.
- Curie, Marie (1867-1934) "Curie, Marie (1867-1934)." World of Earth Science, edited by K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, vol. 1, Gale, 2003, pp. 145-147.
- Dalton, John (1766-1844) "Dalton, John (1766-1844)." Encyclopedia of World Biography, Gale, 1998.
- Democritus (460 B.C.-370 B.C.) "Democritus (460 B.C.-370 B.C.)." Encyclopedia of World Biography, Gale, 1998.
- Heisenberg, Werner Karl (1901-1976) "Heisenberg, Werner Karl (1901-1976)." Encyclopedia of World Biography, Gale, 1998.
- Lavoisier, Antoine Laurent (1743-1794) "Lavoisier, Antoine Laurent (1743-1794)." Encyclopedia of World Biography, Gale, 1998.
- Millikan, Robert Andrews (1868-1953) "Millikan, Robert Andrews (1868-1953)." Encyclopedia of World Biography, Gale, 1998.
- Planck, Max (1858-1947) "Planck, Max (1858-1947)." World of Earth Science, edited by K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, vol. 2, Gale, 2003, pp. 448-450. Gale eBooks,
- Rutherford, Ernest (1871-1937) "Rutherford, Ernest (1871-1937)." Encyclopedia of World Biography, Gale, 1998.
- Schrödinger, Erwin (1887-1961) "Schrödinger, Erwin (1887-1961)." World of Earth Science, edited by K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, vol. 2, Gale, 2003, pp. 509-511.
- Thomson, J. J. "J. J. Thomson, the Discovery of the Electron, and the Study of Atomic Structure." Science and Its Times, edited by Neil Schlager and Josh Lauer, vol. 5, Gale, 2001.
