History
This Day In History
Loading ...
- Digital History
Digital History Partners:
The National Endowment for the Humanities, The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, The Chicago History Museum, The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston and The University of Houston
The National Park Service
- GALE databasesUse this link in case of login difficulties
- GVRL This link opens in a new window Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
This link opens in a new window
- Military and Intelligence Database This link opens in a new window Military and Intelligence Database Collection - A COMPREHENSIVE PERIODICAL COLLECTION SUPPORTING STATE AND MILITARY AFFAIRS
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience
- National Geographic Maps
MapMaker 1-Page Maps - Customize one-page maps and download, email, print, or share! - The World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map. - A History of the World in 100 objects A 100 part series by Neil MacGregor, Director of the British Museum, exploring world history from two million years ago to the present.
- History of the World in 100 Objects BBC See all the objects from the Radio 4 series A History of the World in 100 Objects. Click on any link to find out more about an object, zoom in on the image and listen again or download the programme.
World History Online Reference Books
World ErasISBN: 0787645036Publication Date: 2002 GALE CengageSeries aiming to help students and researchers understand key periods in world history
- World Eras Vol. 1: European Renaissance and Reformation, 1350-1600, 2001 (9781414439402)
- World Eras Vol. 2: Rise and Spread of Islam, 622-1500, 2002 (9781414439419)
- World Eras Vol. 3: Roman Republic and Empire, 264 B.C.E.- 476 C.E., 2001 (9781414439426)
- World Eras Vol. 4: Medieval Europe, 814-1350, 2002 (9781414443034)
- World Eras Vol. 5: Ancient Egypt, 2615 - 332 B.C.E., 2002 (9781414443041)
- World Eras Vol. 6: Classical Greek Civilization, 800-323 B.C.E, 2001 (9781414444192)
- World Eras Vol. 7: Imperial China, 617-1644, 2003 (9781414444208)
- World Eras Vol. 8: Ancient Mesopotamia, 3300-331 B.C.E., 2005 (9781414444215)
- World Eras Vol. 9: Industrial Revolution in Europe, 1750-1914, 2003 (9781414444222)
- World Eras Vol. 10: West African Kingdoms, 500-1590, 2004 (9781414444239)
World War II Reference Library by ISBN: 078763901XThe "World War II Reference Library" includes three important sources of information about World War II. The "World War II: Almanac" provides students with the information they need to write reports and complete class assignments. "World War II: Biographies" profiles more than 30 men and women involved in the war. "World War II: Primary Sources" allows students to study 16 speeches, diary entries, newspaper accounts and other original source documents related to the period.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since1450Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2007. 1315 pp. 3 vols.Provides students and researchers with a much-needed, comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion. From a global perspective, the set traces many facets of colonial growth and imperialism, and much more.
History of World TradeSince1450Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006. 905 pp. 2 vols.History of World Trade Since 1450 starts at a year regarded as the beginning of the Age of Exploration and examines how the hunt for new resources and markets during that period resulted in the establishment of colonies in Africa, the Americas and Asia. The set looks at the Industrial Revolution, the rise of capitalism and the effects of imperialism on the global economy.
US History Online Reference
Ancient to Medieval Reference
Ancient Europe, 8000 B. C. to A. D. 1000 by
This detailed encyclopedia is the first to explore the many peoples of early European civilization. Viewed as "barbarian" through the lens of ancient Greece and Rome, these civilizations were responsible for such accomplishments as the rise of farming in the Neolithic era and the building of Stonehenge. Coverage extends from prehistoric origins through the early Middle Ages (8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000) when tribal movements helped define the end of ancient culture and the rise of the modern European world. Features include 250 black-and-white illustrations; 20 maps; a chronology; a topical outline and index; color frontispieces and two eight-page color inserts; cartographic endpapers; and more.
ISBN: 0684806681
- Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World, 2v, 2004 (9780684314211)
- Ancient Greece and Rome: An Encyclopedia for Students, 4v, 1998 (9780684315942)
- Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome, 2v, 1982 (9780684316307)
- Renaissance and Reformation Reference Library, 6v, 2002 (9780787693107)