Physics of Energy: Guide
Physics Links
- General Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
General Science Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
Possible Topics
Potential energy source research topics:
- Biomass
- Coal
- Geothermal
- Hydroelectric
- Hydrogen/fuel cells
- Natural gas
- Nuclear
- Oil
- Solar
- Tidal/Wave
- Wind
Most Used Databases
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience
Physics of Energy Project
Physics eBooks
- GVRL This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
4 pages1250L
Biomass energy is created from plant material and animal waste such as wood, grasses, agricultural crops, urban waste, algae, and manure. The International Energy Agency (IEA) reports that biomass is the most prevalent...
FromEnergy : In ContextSteven Joseph Archambault . Ed. Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, K. Lee Lerner, and Thomas Riggs . Vol. 1. In Context Series Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, 2016.
3 pages
Energy is commonly defined as the capacity to do work. Since work is defined as the action of a force through a distance, energy can also be described as the ability to make a force act through a distance. For example, a...
FromThe Gale Encyclopedia of ScienceDavid E. Newton . Ed. K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner . Vol. 3. 5th ed. Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, 2014.
7 pages810L
In less than one hour, the earth receives enough radiation from the sun, or insolation, to meet humanity's energy needs for an entire year. The challenge is to capture, convert, and store as much of this vast supply of...
FromAchieving Sustainability : Visions, Principles, and PracticesKaat Vander Straeten . Ed. Debra Rowe . Vol. 2. Detroit, MI: Macmillan Reference USA,
6
pages
1240L
A hydrogen economy refers to an economic system in which a principal energy carrier is molecular hydrogen (H2). Proponents of a hydrogen economy see H2 playing a role similar to that of electric power in developed...
From
Energy
: In
Context
Philip
Koth . Ed. Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, K. Lee Lerner, and Thomas Riggs . Vol. 1. In Context Series Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, 2016.
4 pages1100L
Coal is a fossil fuel formed from the remains of trees and leafy plants in vast swamps that existed around 300 million years ago, when Earth was warmer and wetter. It is a hard, rocklike material that burns to give heat,...
FromEnergy : In ContextSusan Aldridg . Ed. Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, K. Lee Lerner, and Thomas Riggs . Vol. 1. In Context Series Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, 2016.
6 pages1230L
Natural gas is a fossil fuel, extracted from the ground and then used for energy. Natural gas, a nonrenewable fuel source, is formed when layers of decomposed plant and animal matter are exposed to intense heat and...
FromEnergy : In ContextMelanie R. Plenda . Ed. Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, K. Lee Lerner, and Thomas Riggs . Vol. 2. In Context Series Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, 2016.